UNESCO/Literature : Félix Houphouet-Unesco Prize 2021 launched

UNESCO, Literature, Félix Houphouet-Unesco Prize 2021 launched

Félix Houphouët-Boigny-UNESCO Prize 2021  for Peace Research. Indeed, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization launched a call for nominations for the Peace Research Award on 4 December. Named the Félix Houphouet Boigny-UNESCO Prize 2021, it is intended for the various member countries of the organization.

This prize, which will be in its 10th edition, will aim to encourage those who have a well-known desire to preserve peace in the world.

UNESCO Prize 2021 to promote peace

UNESCO therefore invites the Member States of the Organization, as well as interested individuals and legal entities, to submit one or more applications for this competition. It thus expects to honour living persons, institutions or public or private organizations in operation, who have contributed significantly to the promotion, research, safeguarding or maintenance of peace. This is in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations and the UNESCO Constitution.

In particular, the candidates nominated must enjoy an international reputation. On the one hand, their commitment to human rights and the promotion of the culture of peace must be proven. On the other hand, their efforts there, their humanism, regardless of all ethnic, political and religious considerations, must be significant elements of their presentation record.

It is even possible to nominate several applications. A reward of $150,000 would be distributed equally between the winners, up to three of them. The Félix Houphouet-Boigny Prize, named after the first President of Côte d’Ivoire, was established in 1989 and is awarded every two years.

A jury made up of strong figures

The jury for the Unesco Prize 2021 is composed of the following personalities: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, former President of Liberia and Nobel Peace Prize 2011, François Hollande, former President of France, winner of the 2013 Félix Houphouet-Boigny Prize. Also included are Princess Sumaya Bint El Hassan of Jordan, UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace Sciences, Michel Camdessus (France), former Director General of the International Monetary Fund, Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh), founder of Grameen Bank, 2006 Nobel Peace Prize laureate, and Forest Whitaker (USA), founder of the Peace and Development Initiative.

Recipients include Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk, as well as Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres and Yasser Arafat.

Nominations for the Unesco Prize 2021 should be submitted to the Secretariat of the UNESCO-Félix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize at PrixFHB@unesco.org.

The deadline for submitting applications is February 28, 2021.
As a reminder, in 2019, it was the Prime Minister of Ethiopia, Abiy Ahmed Ali, who had been distinguished « for his constant efforts for peace and reconciliation between his country and Eritrea. »

Lire on : Education / Unesco: a virtual meeting from 20 to 22 October to set new priorities